Log in

Beyond Lust and Fear: The Path to Liberation in the Bhagavad Gita

Mar 24th, 2024 | 2 Min Read
Blog Thumnail

Category: Bhagavad Gita


Language: English

In the Bhagavad Gita Chapter 2, Verse 54, Arjuna is asking Shree Krishna about the states of sthita-prajna (sthitaprajña/ स्थितप्रज्ञ ) and samadhistha (samādhistha/ समाधिस्थ) apply to enlightened persons.
अर्जुन उवाच |
स्थितप्रज्ञस्य का भाषा समाधिस्थस्य केशव |
स्थितधी: किं प्रभाषेत किमासीत व्रजेत किम् || 
arjuna uvācha
sthita-prajñasya kā bhāṣhā samādhi-sthasya keśhava
sthita-dhīḥ kiṁ prabhāṣheta kim āsīta vrajeta kim
Translation: Arjun says, "O Keshav, what is the disposition of one who is situated in divine consciousness? How does an enlightened person talk? How does he sit? How does he walk?"

Arjuna inquires about the characteristics of someone with a steady intellect (sthita-prajna) and someone established in a spiritual trance (samadhistha). He wants to understand both the nature of a person's mind in this state and how it manifests in their actions. 
श्रीभगवानुवाच |
प्रजहाति यदा कामान्सर्वान्पार्थ मनोगतान् |
आत्मन्येवात्मना तुष्ट: स्थितप्रज्ञस्तदोच्यते ||
śhrī bhagavān uvācha
prajahāti yadā kāmān sarvān pārtha mano-gatān
ātmany-evātmanā tuṣhṭaḥ sthita-prajñas tadochyate
Translation: The Supreme Lord says, "O Parth, when one discards all selfish desires and cravings of the senses that torment the mind and becomes satisfied in the realisation of the self, such a person is said to be transcendentally situated."

Shree Krishna explains that the soul is a fragment of the ocean of infinite bliss and experiences the natural urge for bliss. When it strives to relish the bliss of the soul from God, it is called 'Divine Love'. But when, in ignorance of its spiritual nature, it thinks of itself as the body and seeks to relish the bliss of the body from the world, it is called 'lust'.  The scriptures describe this world as a mirage, offering a false promise of happiness.

With the elimination of all selfish desires, the embodied soul (jīvātmā/ जीवात्मा) can find liberation from the cycle of birth and death, and in this pursuit, it can attain godlike qualities. This journey, though challenging, holds the promise of a brighter, more enlightened future, filling our hearts with hope and optimism.

In verse 2.56, Shree Krishna describes sages of steady wisdom as: 

  1. Vita raga (vītarāga/ वीतराग) – they give up craving for pleasure, 
  2. Vita bhaya (vītabhaya/ वीतभय)- they remain free from fear, 
  3. Vita krodha(vītakrodhaḥ/ वीतक्रोध)- they are devoid of anger. 
An enlightened person is someone who does not let their mind indulge in negative emotions such as lust, anger, greed, envy, or other similar frailties. Only when the mind is free from such emotions can it focus on contemplating transcendence and be fixed in the Divine. A sage of steady wisdom is someone who does not allow their mind to crave pleasure or lament for miseries. Additionally, such a sage does not permit their mind to succumb to the urges of fear and anger. By doing so, the mind becomes situated at the transcendental level, which is essential for spiritual growth.

Summary: JKYog India Online Class- Bhagavad Gita [English]- 23.03.2024